CDL has established the longest history of having a dedicated Sustainability portfolio amongst Singapore companies, headed by the Chief Sustainability Officer (CSO) since 2014. The CSO reports directly to the Board Sustainability Committee (BSC), which comprises three independent directors, and CDL’s Executive Director / Group CEO. The BSC has direct advisory supervision on CDL’s sustainability strategy, material ESG issues, work plans, performance targets and sustainability reporting. It convenes meetings at least twice annually to discuss CDL’s sustainability plans and review its performance. Throughout the year, the CSO updates the BSC on CDL’s ESG performance and initiatives, as well as global and local ESG trends through the quarterly sustainability reports and emails with additional meetings, when necessary. CDL’s sustainability governance structure, practices and disclosures, which have been in place for years are in line with SGX’s mandate on climate and board diversity disclosures.

To achieve effective integration of sustainability throughout the company, the CSO chairs the Sustainability Committee, which comprises members across all departments and operational units. Heads of Departments (HODs) and their line managers are held accountable for their ESG performances, which are captured in their annual performance appraisal that is linked to their remuneration and promotion.

Sustainability Governance Structure


Board Sustainability Committee (BSC)

  • Sherman Kwek

    Chairperson, BSC
    Executive Director and Group Chief Executive Officer

    Appointed as an Executive Director of CDL on 15 May 2019, Mr Kwek has been the Group Chief Executive Officer since 1 January 2018 and concurrently holds the position of Executive Chairman of CDL China Limited. As at 4 January 2021, Mr Kwek has been appointed as Chairman of the Board Sustainability Committee.

    Mr Kwek has been a Council Member of the Singapore Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry (SCCCI) since 2013. He was appointed by the SCCCI as the Chairman of the Youth Business Affairs Committee, which is tasked with promoting the Chinese entrepreneurial spirit, managing succession planning and nurturing future business leaders. Mr Kwek is also a member of the Council for Board Diversity (formerly known as the Diversity Action Committee initiated by the Singapore Exchange Limited) which advocates greater gender diversity on the boards of listed companies. In April 2019, he was appointed as a board member of the Building and Construction Authority (BCA), a statutory board that plays a key role in shaping the built environment in Singapore.

    He graduated from Boston University with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, majoring in Finance and Marketing with a minor in Psychology.

  • Philip Yeo Liat Kok

    Independent and Non-Executive Director

    Appointed as a Director of CDL on 11 May 2009, Mr Yeo was last re-elected as a Director on 26 April 2019. He is also the Chairman of the Nominating Committee, and a member of the Remuneration Committee and Board of Sustainability Committee of CDL.

    Mr Yeo is Chairman of Economic Development Innovations Singapore Pte Ltd (EDIS) which provides strategic advice and undertakes the development and management of integrated industrial and urban areas with an emphasis on job creation and industrial cluster development.

    Mr Yeo is an independent Director of Baiterek National Managing Holding and Kerry Logistics Network Limited and the Chairman of Accuron Technologies Limited, Hexagon Development Advisors Pte. Ltd. and MTIC Holdings Pte. Ltd.

    Mr Yeo holds a Bachelor of Applied Science (Industrial Engineering), an honorary Doctorate in Engineering from the University of Toronto, Canada, an honorary Doctorate in Medicine from the Karolinska Institutet, Sweden, a Master of Science (Systems Engineering) from the University of Singapore, a Master of Business Administration from Harvard University, USA, a Doctor of Science from Imperial College, London, an honorary Doctor of Letters from National University of Singapore and an honorary Doctor of Law from Monash University of Australia. He also received the Order of the Rising Sun, Gold and Silver Star from the Government of Japan (2007) and the Distinguished Service (Star) award from the Singapore Labour Movement, National Trade Union Congress (2008).

  • Daniel Marie Ghislain Desbaillets

    Independent and Non-Executive Director

    Appointed as a Director of CDL on 4 January 2021, Mr Desbaillets has an extensive portfolio in the hospitality industry with 42 years of experience. Mr Desbaillets also sits on the Board of Sustainability Committee of CDL.

    Prior to the privatisation of Millennium and Copthorne Hotels Limited (M&C), Mr Desbaillets was the appointed to the M&C board in 2016 as an Independent Non-Executive Director and had served in the Audit & Risk, Remuneration and Risk Committees.

    In 2010, he was the Independent Non-Executive Director of M&C REIT Management Limited, the manager for CDL Hospitality Real Estate Investment Trust (“H-REIT”) and also of M&C Business Trust Management Limited, the trustee-manager for CDL Hospitality Business Trust (“HBT”) and had served in the Nominating and Remuneration Committees. Both H-REIT and HBT are comprised as a stapled group in CDL Hospitality Trusts, which is listed on the Singapore Exchange Securities Trading Limited.

  • Tang Ai Ai Mrs Wong Ai Ai

    Independent and Non-Executive Director

  • Chong Yoon Chou

    Independent and Non-Executive Director

More information on CDL’s Board of Directors is available on CDL’s corporate website.

Note: From 1 Jan 2022, Mr Philip Yeo Liat Kok stepped down from the BSC, and Independent Non-Executive Directors Ms Tang Ai Ai Mrs Wong Ai Ai and Mr Chong Yoon Chou were appointed as BSC members.